Arkansas Has New Auto Insurance Law

A new state law took effect at the beginning of 2020 requiring all Arkansas drivers to have vehicle insurance.

The law covers only motorcycles and motor vehicles. If a driver does not have insurance, state officials will send the driver a letter telling them they have 30 days to get insurance or their registration on the vehicle will be suspended. After that, it will cost $100 to have the registration reinstated.

The law also creates a system to allow law enforcement to check the insurance status of drivers in real time, plus it will let officials know if the insurance was bought or has lapsed.

According to officials with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, nearly 400,000 of the nearly 2.9 million vehicles in the state are not insured.

The state department will send letters to motorists starting in early February 2020.